(Modesto, CA) – Vince McFarland was honored with the 2016 Nicholas J. Tocco Outstanding Store Manager of the Year Award this weekend at the company’s annual management appreciation gala. Vince manages our S-Mart Foods store in Stockton, California. He’ll be celebrating 48 years with the Company this year.

“It’s a great honor to be chosen Store Manager of the Year. I love people, both our customers and my employees,” said McFarland, noting that his favorite part of the job is mentoring. “I take pride in the fact that I’ve trained more than 30 people and helped them grow professionally within the Company,” he said.

Vince began his career with The Save Mart Companies in 1969, starting in Oakland as a bagger for Lucky Supermarkets, which is another store brand owned by TSMC. He rose through the ranks, transferring to various locations in the Bay Area. Each time he moved, he took on more responsibilities. A decade later, Vince finally got to manage his own store, which was the Lucky at Lake Merritt.  In 2012, he moved to the Central Valley, managing a few stores there before taking over the Stockton S-Mart Foods in 2015. Save Mart’s executive leadership describes McFarland as one who never gives up or gives in when the going gets tough. He’s always looking for a better way forward.

Lawrence Szeto from our Lucky store in Concord and Calvin Chaney from our Save Mart store in Carson City, Nevada were named first and second runners-up respectively.

This year’s nominees included:

  • Mike Moreno – Save Mart in Ripon, CA
  • John Bettencourt – Lucky on Portola Avenue, Livermore, CA
  • Luke Houston – Save Mart in Riverbank, CA
  • Chris Benson – Save Mart on North Carson Street, in Carson City, NV
  • Charles Brauer – Save Mart on North West Avenue in Fresno, CA
  • John Burgess – Save Mart in Sparks, NV
  • Lawrence Grable – Lucky on East Monte Vista Avenue in Vacaville, CA

The Outstanding Manager of the Year award was created in honor of the late Nicholas J. Tocco, co-founder of Save Mart Supermarkets. Nominees for the award must meet the company’s standards for store performance, customer service and community involvement. The winner receives an etched blown glass vase, travel certificate and cash. Runners up receive a cash award, and all nominees receive a framed certificate. 

#  #  #  #